Wake Up!

August 20, 2008 at 9:38 pm 15 comments

The past few weeks have been like a blur. I’ve been working 10-12 hours a day for the past couple of months. I used to have every other Friday off. I can’t remember the last Friday I didn’t work. (Today, one of our systems went down and now I have to find something to do to look busy. Hello Blog!) Can’t deny the overtime is a blessing right now. It’s just that lately, when I get home, all I want to do is turn into a vegatable. A cucumber would be nice. A cucumber that takes out the garbage. Hmmm. Where have I heard that before?

**************************************************

School started up again for Big M last week. Moving up to the bigs this year, Jr. High. It boggles my mind how fast he’s growing. Just seems like yesterday I could scoop him up and put him on my shoulders. Not anymore. I miss those days but at the same time it’s awesome to watch him grow and develop into a young man I know I can be proud of. At the same time it’s a bit frightening to let him go and do things on his own. Now he gets himself up, ready and off to school on the bus. The first day he got on the wrong bus coming home and rode it all the way to the end of the line. The driver announced last stop and he got off without a clue as to where he was and nothing looked familiar. Times like this make me glad for cell phones. He sounded scared at first but I told him not to panic and just head for the nearest intersection. He did and found another bus to ride back home. It was all I could do to keep from losing it. There is no worse feeling in the world than knowing your kid is out there, lost somewhere, and you have no idea where. WHEW!

************************************************

So I finally get some surfing time today and what do I discover? The fucking internet Nazis here at work have blocked some of my peeps. Now I can’t visit MetalMom, Bluepaintred or Nobody or Shelli. Cock blocking sumbitches.
I also have links to fix for those of you that made the switch to WordPress. Since I never used Blogger I’d be interested to know which one you prefer.

And I found this over at Some Guy’s Blog and figured I’d better get started on my retirement plan. Thanks Chris. You rock!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bummed Out This Post Has No Title

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris  |  August 20, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Ha! Finally someone who understands how big a goldmine this will be! I hope you get to relax at some point, MN.

    Reply
  • 2. Teri  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I wonder why they blocks sites and why you can visit other sites?

    I would have freaked if I knew my child was out there alone but I would try to do it while not being on the phone with them. Why does he have to take a public bus to school?

    Damn, what a cute kid you were. What happened to you? Just kidding. : )

    One of my other fellow bloggers also mentioned the “trading card” thing. I was wondering what they were talking about back then.

    Reply
  • 3. Teri  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Oh yeah, I prefer WordPress, now. More automated but you definitely have to know how to navigate through and understand the lingo, etc.

    Reply
  • 4. bluepaintred  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    got you covered! (I hope)

    1. do you use Google reader?
    2. do you use firefox?

    If the answer to those two questions are yes, you can read this post by britt and will be able to make it so you can see our sites VIA google reader – You can even comment FROM THE READER!

    If that dosent work, I dunno what to do!!!

    http://miss-britt.com/2008/08/its-probably-like-the-most-awesome-blogging-tool-ever/

    Reply
  • 5. mixednut  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Chris – Forget Krugerrands. This is the investment opportunity of a lifetime!

    Teri – I don’t know why some are and some aren’t. It can’t be content, I can still get to Avitable’s and Dick’s sites.
    We live too close to the school to be eligible for school buses. I guess you have to be outside the 3.5 mile radius.
    :-p

    BPR – I do use the Google reader. Sometimes. I know it’s convenient and all, but for some reason I like to go to the actual page. I’m stuck with IE 6 here at work and I don’t think they will let me dl Firefox. And the pix don’t show up in the reader. IE sucks the big one. But you’re right. I can see your posts in the reader. How do I comment from there? I don’t see any options to do so. Help?

    Reply
  • 6. Tug  |  August 21, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Glad to hear Big M made it home OK, and you’re still alive! K was flying to my parents (alone) one summer (jr. high years) & something happened, don’t remember what – but she was stranded in SLC overnight – they took her to a hotel (IN A STRANGE CITY) & her contact solution & luggage were with the plane somewhere…I don’t think I slept at all that night.

    Reply
  • 7. mixednut  |  August 21, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Tug – Wow! I wouldn’t have slept either. I swear sometimes I can almost feel the greys coming in.

    Reply
  • 8. bluepaintred  |  August 22, 2008 at 3:24 am

    if you had firefox,m and had read the post of britts I linked too, there is instructions on how to get the google reader extension thingy, then its liek you are at the persons page. They count a visit, their ads see the visit, its just liek being on their page – you even see the template – except you can just scroll down to the next blog in your list without opening all the windows!

    Reply
  • 9. mixednut  |  August 22, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Blue – Britt’s post was very informative and I’m all over it here at home. Now. Thanks for the linky. I’ll see if I can get Firefox on my work computer.

    Reply
  • 10. Teri  |  August 23, 2008 at 12:26 am

    did I mention what a cute kid he is?

    your son looks exactly like you!

    Reply
  • 11. Shelli  |  August 24, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    You mean that I have been censored?

    Reply
  • 12. thatgirl  |  August 25, 2008 at 12:17 am

    3.5 miles??? that’s insane to make a kid walk that far … i would have been freaking out!! glad he made it ok. my little man started jr high last year because they are doing drastic district changes due to the population boom out here and it amazes me to think that he is in 7th grade this year. he’s almost as tall as me …. eeeek!!

    Reply
  • 13. thatgirl  |  August 25, 2008 at 12:17 am

    oh … and i make the wordpress jump too!!

    Reply
  • 14. amy  |  September 22, 2008 at 2:23 am

    You can still visit my awesome blog.

    My kids are now both in high school. It’s TOTALLY scary. Soon I will have to teach them to drive. I’m already stocking up on Xanax.

    Reply
  • 15. mixednut  |  October 6, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Teri – Aww. *blushes*

    Shelli – Yeah, you of all people. Bastards.

    That Girl – They grow up WAY too fast. *sigh*

    Amy – Xanax. Good idea. Save some for me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


