Shake It Up

July 30, 2008 at 9:30 pm 6 comments

Ahhhhh.
Nothing like a little earthquake to make your day interesting.
Yesterday we had a little shaker here that was just enough to make you wonder, is this the big one?
It happens about every ten years or so and it’s a very strange sensation. At first, with me anyways, I think I hear something. Then I realize that it’s the creaks and squeaks from the building I’m in doing the shimmy-shimmy. Then the floor begins that rolling motion that reminds me of waves on a lake or ocean. That’s about the time I notice the filing cabinets banging against each other and my monitors are swaying back and forth on my desk. And I wait. Waiting to see if I need to dive under my desk. Luckily, I’ve never had to.
I’ve been through at least 3 major quakes and several smaller ones and after a while, you get used to them. Reactions among most of the people who grew up here go like this:
“So, whaddya think? A 4 maybe 5?” (Richter scale measurement)
“Nah, couldn’t been more than a 3”. And then we go back to business as usual.

P.S. I wanted to do this post yesterday, but after being at work for 13 hours I went home and went straight to bed. I don’t think I even turned on any lights when I got home.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Unmasked! Bummed Out

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Teri  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    I was speaking to another admin from our LA office during this. We’re talking and then all of a sudden she says “I gotta go, we’re having an earthquake……..click”. I got freaked for a minute.

    glad it wasn’t too bad and that you and the boy are good.

    “I don’t think I even turned on any lights when I got home.”

    I think I would have done the same thing.

    Reply
  • 2. that girl  |  July 31, 2008 at 2:54 am

    and that is why i live in arizona

    Reply
  • 3. cat  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:56 am

    WOW. I would have freaked OUT!

    Reply
  • 4. mixednut  |  July 31, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Teri & Cat- As long as there’s no damage, they are actually kinda fun!

    That Girl – You’re missig out.

    Reply
  • 5. Falwless  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I think I would rather live in earthquake-land than tornado-land. We don’t have earthquakes here but we do have occasional tornadoes, and damn it if those things don’t seriously scare the living bejebus outta me. I am such a baby when the wind picks up heavily.

    Reply
  • 6. mixednut  |  July 31, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Fal – I don’t mind the possibility of falling into a crack in the earth, but being carried away to the Land of Oz or impaled by a piece of straw? Screw that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


