Remember When?

July 1, 2008 at 9:50 pm 6 comments

I swear, gas prices have got me driving like a senior citizen. I used to drive around 5-10 miles an hour over the speed limit. Now I’m all the way to the right-hand side, driving 10 miles under the limit, trying to get the most mpg’s.

What’s that? You say you’re hot and want to turn on the air conditioning? Fuhgetaboutit!

And since we’re talking about driving, today is July 1st and a new law has taken effect here in So. Cal.. It is now against the law to talk on your cell phone while driving. If you have a hands-free device, then you’re safe. But no more holding your phone up to your ear while you attempt to navigate the freeways, find a radio station, brush your hair, eat lunch, or read.
Oh, but if you want to dial your phone, or text someone, that’s ok. Just no talkie.
How much sense does that make?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

For Dawg Grand Ol’ Flag

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Evil Genius  |  July 1, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I heard that Chicago wants to enact a law to stop people walking down the street from talking on cell phones. No, seriously. Apparently everyone in Chicagoland is so clumsy that they can’t talk and walk at the same time and keep running into each other and lampposts and such while talking on the phone. Probably makes all our insurance costs go up. Damn windy city folk.

    Reply
  • 2. Tug  |  July 2, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    There are so many laws that don’t make sense – they’re kinda trying to protect the stupid, and yet that will NEVER work. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. teri  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    what is this country coming too? It’s all craziness, I tell ya. PLUS, WTF? Is the government becoming more stupid by the second? Is it because Bush is still in office?

    Reply
  • 4. mixednut  |  July 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    EG – No kidding? That is just insane. And welcome, btw.

    Tug – So true.

    Teri – Probably. Thankfully his term’s almost done!

    Reply
  • 5. Falwless  |  July 3, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    WTF! I just typed this very long comment and when I pressed Submit it said: “FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, please stop making so many comments so quickly!” or something like that, and I was confused because I hadn’t left a comment yet. So then I pressed “back” and my long comment was ERASED! WIPED OUT! GONE! IT WAS THOROUGHLY AWESOME, TOO!

    Maaan. What a bummer. Basically it said I didn’t know you had a blog because when I look at your profile in Blogger it doesn’t have the usual linkage at the bottom to your blog, it’s over to the left hand side. And I am bad about remembering to check the left hand side!

    BTW, I laugh at your avatar every time you leave me a comment. I dunno what it is about that guy, but he brings me much joy.

    Reply
  • 6. mixednut  |  July 4, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Falwless – Welcome. Sorry you had so much trouble. Must’ve been due to the high traffic around here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


