Blue Christmas

December 11, 2007 at 11:23 pm 8 comments

xtree.jpg

“It’s the holiday season.  So whoop-dee-doo, and dickery-dock.  And don’t forget to sit on my hang up your sock.”   – Andy Williams

So, it’s that time of year again. 

Ugh.  

I have such a love/hate relationship with the holidays lately.  I used to really look forward to this time of year, but nowadays…notsomuch.  I really should apologize for blowing off Thanksgiving and not sending you guys lots of turkey love.  But I was hiding under a rock with my good buddy Wiser.  Instead of having a frozen turkey tv dinner, the Punkster was with his mom and her family, which is the way it should be.  They invited me too, but I think I would’ve rather wrestled rabid raccoons than endure another “get together” with the out-laws. 

So here it is, two weeks before the big day and I just can’t seem to get into the spirit.  The fact that it’s the first one without my mom probably has something to do with it.  And I’m not really looking forward to NYE either.  Sucks being by yourself on the holidays.  But I’m going to do my best not to let it get me down too much.  Instead of just pulling the covers over my head until after the first of the year, I’ll try to gleam some of the Christmas spirit from you guys by keeping up with all of your holiday goings-on.  May the spirit of the holidays be with all of you.  

Now get out there and buy me something!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Random Find Take Off!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teri  |  December 12, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Being single is definitely a downer around the holidays. Thanks god for good friends! Having loved ones pass away definitely makes it worse. They say the first Christmas without them is the worse.

    what would you like for Christmas, little boy? Have you been good this year? or do you deserve something naughty? hehehehe

    Reply
  • 2. Tug  |  December 12, 2007 at 4:17 am

    Yeah, Christmas can suck. I think the ‘spirit’ is tough for a lot of people this year, even WITH family, but it’s got to be much worse with a loss. Change it up – do something totally unexpected…find a new ‘tradition’. And however you should choose…I wish you Happy Holidays, and a much better Next Year!

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 12, 2007 at 10:50 am

    How many rabid racoons can you wrestle at one time?

    Reply
  • 4. bluepaintred  |  December 12, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    the first Christmas after my mom died was horrible. but it did get better.

    Try chocolate- there are some damn awesome chocolates out just for Christmas -, that works for me.

    Reply
  • 5. mixednut  |  December 12, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Teri – Good? I’ve had no complaints.

    Tug – You’re right. Instead of Christmas cookies, I’ll make Christmas “brownies”.

    Fab – Quite a few. As long as none of them are named Rocky.

    Blue – Chocolate…mmmmm.

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  December 13, 2007 at 2:16 am

    cheer up

    here… smoke this
    you’ll feel better

    Reply
  • 7. Dick Small  |  December 18, 2007 at 10:13 am

    NOT a big fan of the holidays either, MN!

    Reply
  • 8. mixednut  |  December 19, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Jen – *holding breath* Thnks!

    Dick – Hey, maybe we should “celebrate” together, if you catch my drift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


