Close Call

October 25, 2007 at 9:08 pm 5 comments

Ok, so we may not fall off into the Pacific.  But we sure as hell might burn right down to the fuckin’ ground.

I’ve lived in So. Cal. all my life and have survived several quakes.  No biggie.  But this time, Mother Nature was pissed.

It started on Saturday night last when the winds began picking up to about 30-40mph.  Nothing unusual.  Then, about 2 am, I woke up and thought to myself, “the roof is coming off this sucker any second”.  For the next day or so the trailer was ROCKIN’.  At any second I expected to look out the window and see that ol’ biddy that’s out to get me and my little dog, pedaling away.  I’ve never been through a hurricane, but this was as close as I want to get.  The winds were constant 60-70 mph, with gusts up to 80, or more.

Then the fires broke loose.  It was the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen.  I sat glued to the tube watching as one fire became two fires, and then they told two friends, and so on and so on.  I went outside and thought I was seeing smoke from a distant fire when in fact it was from a fire five miles up the road.  I’ve never been this close to having to evacuate like so many other people did.  The Punkster was worried and I was starting to become concerned myself.  The wind was so violent and unpredicatable that I started to wonder if any amount of firefighters would make a difference.  By Sunday night the fire burned to within less than a quarter mile.  Every 20 minutes or so I went outside to check on it and at one point started to gather some clothes and paperwork, just in case. 

But you’ve got to hand it to the firemen.  They managed to save a lot of buildings and homes.  More than I thought possible.  We didn’t have to evacuate and due to the wind direction, we didn’t catch a whiff of smoke the entire time.  I guess you could say we among the very lucky ones. 

This was taken about 20 feet from my front door. The ridge just beyond those buildings eventually burned all the way down to the street.
fire11.jpg

This was the view looking west across the street.
fire2.jpg

Walked less than 5 minutes to get this shot.  This is the top of the ridge in the first pic.
fire4.jpg

A mighty wind.
fire5.jpg

All images are clickable.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Meme Me Tequila Sunrise

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tug  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Why didn’t I know you were in SoCal? dang. Very glad to hear you’re all right, and things are calming down.

    Reply
  • 2. bluepaintred  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:54 am

    omg I had no idea ou were in california! there have been a tonne of people on my blog roll i have been feverishly checking for updates on, but I never once thought of you!

    thank god you are OK.

    I saw a photo on yahoo images today, lemme go find it.
    http://news.yahoo.com/photo/071024/photos_ts/2007_10_24t131818_450x317_us_california_wildfire_1

    they worked so hard on these fires they are able to fall asleep with concrete for a pillow.

    it takes an amazing person to be a fire fighter, thats for sure!

    Reply
  • 3. teri  |  October 26, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    OMG. I was thinkin about you and the boy and hoping things were safe. Those are incredible pictures. I’m surprised you couldn’t smell all the smoke. Were the winds mostly from Mother Nature or the fires burning?

    I hope they catch the fucker that set this blaze.

    Reply
  • 4. Some Guy  |  October 26, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Stay safe, MN!

    Reply
  • 5. mixednut  |  October 31, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Thanks for all the well wishes guys. I just heard on the radio today that this fire was started by some pre-teen kid playing with matches. I know SOME of the other fires were caused by downed power lines but 16 fires in one day? Damn firebugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


