I’m Here

August 21, 2007 at 7:32 pm 4 comments

Thanks for all the well wishes you guys. This is the first time I’ve been in front of the keyboard in about 2 weeks.
I haven’t been to work since the 9th (which is where I do most of my blogging) as I’ve been extremely busy trying to move out of the house and into the new place. The bank offered a little incentive to be out within two weeks and I took it. For the past 10 days I’ve been busting my ass in 100 plus degree heat for about 15 hours a day. I’ve managed to drop about 13 pounds and lost a couple of inches around the ol’ gut. But I’m out, finally.

I’m not real proud of letting it go. I usually pay my bills on time and can manage my budget pretty well. But the monthly mortgage had grown too large for me to handle by myself and if even one extra little expense came up that month, well that just screwed up everything.

Now I can have some breathing room, financially, if not physically. I basically moved back into the place I grew up in while in high school. When my mom passed in March, my brother kept the place going. Now he’s agreed to rent it to me for an extremely reasonable price. It’s a two-bedroom, single-wide mobile home that is just the right size, if I was a hobbit. Quite a challenge, going from a 1200 sq. ft. home to a place that is just over 500 sq. ft.. It’s like trying to squeeze 10 pounds of shit into a 5 pound sack. But hey, you’ve got to live somewhere, right?

The Punkster has been a real trooper and is handling the move and transition to the new school very well. He’s no stranger to the new place as he lived there for a few months during the separation a few years back. The only problem is that the park is for seniors only. The management knows I have some custody (when I actually have full), but have made it clear that he can’t stay with me permanently. Whatever. I lived there with my mom when I was 16 and stayed for many years after with no trouble at all. So I’m sneaking him in and out when I can and he seems to be getting used to riding in the trunk.

All in all I think this will be for the best for both of us. Maybe now we can hit a baseball game or the movies more often. We’ll be able to go camping and fishing and all the other stuff we should be doing together. It’s been a hell of a week and a half but now things are starting to slow down and our routines are starting to gel. I still have a ton of crap to unpack, but I can do that at my leisure. It feels good to be back at work and in touch with you all again. I missed you guys!

I think I’ll go collapse now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In A Mixednut Shell Catch Up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teri  |  August 21, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I’m so glad you’re good and in a better situation, especially financially. I get the same way with the new house. I have to be careful about the money I spend and if a bill comes up that’s over a couple of hundred bucks, I’m sweating bullets.

    Hope all goes well. Hope they don’t find out about the boy and make you move and hopefully you get some much deserved peace and quiet.

    Reply
  • 2. zed  |  August 23, 2007 at 12:19 am

    A lot of us were worried about you, so it’s great news to see you are okay. It’s amazing how humans are able to adjust to life’s changes. It’s not easy, and we get all cranky about it, but after a while, it seems right and natural and we’re happy where we’re at–no matter where that is.

    I’m sure Punkster’s okay as long as he’s with you. He knows how much his dad loves him.

    Hugs sent to you right this moment. You’re going to be okay, MN. I’m so glad.

    Reply
  • 3. Doctor Mom  |  August 23, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Welcome back!

    This is only a temporary set-back and time to get yourself back on your feet!

    Although the boy riding in the trunk….well, I might have to take issue with that one!

    Welcome back, glad to know you’re doing ok!

    Reply
  • 4. dick small  |  August 26, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Welcome back, Mixed! Good luck with your new start. All the best to you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


