Safe And Sane

July 4, 2007 at 6:15 am 19 comments

Just thinking about the holiday gets me all giddy inside. I love the whole idea about celebrating our country’s discovery. The vibe in the air while everyone runs around buying gifts and decorating trees.

I remember when I was a youngster, my mom and I would go down to the local patch and pick out the biggest pumpkin ever. Then we’d go home and light some candles and dye some eggs.

As usual I will probably have trouble falling asleep tonight, being too excited to sleep, wondering what the tooth fairy will bring.

fireworks-5.jpg

Happy Holiday Everyone! Get out and blow up some shit. That’s what our forefathers would’ve done.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That’s It? Hotter Than Hell

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teri  |  July 4, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    wow, so you roll all the holidays and stuff into one day, cool!

    I like the idea of blowing up shit. This is what I will do today.

    Have a great day, mixednut.

    Reply
  • 2. Doctor Mom  |  July 4, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Happy 4th!

    It must be a guy thing. I have no desire to blow anything up, yet, my son and spouse are literally drooling over the fireworks they have obtained.

    They began last week loading little firecrackers into marshmallows, loading the marshmallow into a catapult, and watching the whole works explode mid-flight.

    And…. this is fun!

    Reply
  • 3. mixednut  |  July 4, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Teri – You too!

    Doc – It’s definitely a guy thing.

    Reply
  • 4. teri  |  July 5, 2007 at 2:27 am

    mixednut – it depends on my mood as to whether or not I want to throw something or blow something up. I haven’t gotten to the “blowing up something” thing yet but I might, in the near future! It seems like fun.

    Reply
  • 5. Doctor Mom  |  July 5, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    I prefer mass destruction via implosion or wrecking ball

    Reply
  • 6. Dick Small  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I have something I would like to blow up: I would like to blow up my prosecutor’s file cabinet. And his computer. And his Ferrari.

    Reply
  • 7. Dick Small  |  July 5, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    … and his bank records..

    Reply
  • 8. mixednut  |  July 6, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Teri – May I always stay on your good side!

    Dick – I’ve got some leftover m-80’s if you need ’em.
    But you never got them from me, right? *wink*

    Doc – How cool would that be. Wrecking ball operator. Sheee-it.

    Reply
  • 9. Tug  |  July 6, 2007 at 3:16 am

    I didn’t see a firework. Or any colored eggs dammit. No money under my pillow this morning….but there was a hot young thing on the pillow next to mine.

    We had our own fireworks. 😉

    Hope you had a good 4th & blew up something yourself!!

    Reply
  • 10. mixednut  |  July 6, 2007 at 3:29 am

    Alright Tug!

    Reply
  • 11. Zed  |  July 6, 2007 at 3:47 am

    I didn’t blow anything up on the 4th because the big “booms” scare me. God, I’m such a baby. 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Doctor Mom  |  July 6, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    We had our community fireworks in Cul-de-Sac last night. They never have them on the actual 4th of July, but on the first Thursday in July.

    (odd… but that’s another topic)

    Anyway, I had my son Snort and his buddy with me and as we laid on a sleeping bag under the fireworks display, Snort began asking 500 questions about how they do “this”

    Unfortunately, I didn’t have 500 answers, I had one consistent answer “I don’t know”

    Then I told him that these guys go through extensive training to be pyrotechnics

    It was quiet for about 2 minutes, and he said “That’s what I want to do when I’m done with school”

    Yippee!! This means I get to worry about him for the rest of my natural born life 😮

    Reply
  • 13. teri  |  July 6, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    poor, Dr. Mom!

    Reply
  • 14. Doctor Mom  |  July 6, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Why Teri, is that sarcasm I detect?

    Reply
  • 15. teri  |  July 6, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    absolutely not. why do children do this to their parents? now you have to worry about him blowing himself up every day.

    maybe you should push him towards being a doctor?

    Reply
  • 16. Doctor Mom  |  July 6, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Ok, thanks for clarifying Teri!
    I was beginning to think Dick Small was having a negative influence on you!

    Unfortunately, there’s no pushing this kid.

    Look in the dictionary under “Strong-Willed”

    His name is first on the list even before they begin the alphabetical order!

    Reply
  • 17. Doctor Mom  |  July 6, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    BTW– I forgot to write the part about

    “I was worried” after the Dick Small influence statement…

    Now I understand!

    Reply
  • 18. Amy  |  July 7, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    I watched people blow shit up… does that count?

    Reply
  • 19. Dick Small  |  July 9, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    No I think Teri was being sarcastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


