California myths debunked! pt.1

May 15, 2007 at 11:19 pm 9 comments

Being a native from the great state of Cali I feel a certain responsibility to defend my home state from the stereotypical impressions that give Cali a bad rep. 

Myth: California will one day fall off into the Pacific Ocean.

That would never happen.  If it were true, why are there so many freakin’ people here?!  Would you move to a state that is doomed to become part of of the ocean floor?  I think not.  Not only that, but if you study a map of the U.S. you will noticed we are well attached to the continent by 3 states and 1 country.  We’re not going anywhere!  In fact, I think the fact that we have the most earthquakes is a result of California being pushed into our neighborhood states.  Safe and secure.

Now, if there is any state in danger of falling off into the ocean it would have to be Florida.  I mean look at it.  It’s attached by a lousy panhandle.  Panhandles have been known to come loose.  It’s North America’s big toe, waiting to be stubbed.  I’ll pray for you Floridians. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finally! …Cause I’m one step closer to the edge…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teri  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:45 am

    I’ve always thought the same about Florida. “It’s North America’s big toe, waiting to be stubbed”. So true. Anything that hangs off like that is doomed.

    Reply
  • 2. Mr. Fabulous  |  May 16, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Why must you pick on Florida, you damn dirty Californian?

    Reply
  • 3. dick small  |  May 16, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Personally, I’ve always thought Florida resembled another appendage. But I suppose that’s just me.

    Reply
  • 4. mixednut42  |  May 16, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Teri – Soooo glad I don’t live there.

    Fab – It’s just asking to be picked on.

    DS – It sticks out like a sore thumb. I say we chisel it off and let Cuba have it.

    Reply
  • 5. Just Dave  |  May 17, 2007 at 12:00 am

    So true, so true. And, according to Tom Tancredo, Republican candidate for President, the state is becoming very bottom heavy with all those pesky Cubans in Miami. Cuba will probably annex the state one of these days.

    Reply
  • 6. amy  |  May 17, 2007 at 3:32 am

    I live in California, but I’m not a native so I don’t feel a need to defend it.

    But, I wanted to say…WHOOHOO!! I’m so glad you are back, and that you have a BLOG!

    Reply
  • 7. mixednut42  |  May 17, 2007 at 5:06 am

    Dave – It’s practically theirs anyway. oooops! *covers mouth*

    Amy – Thank you!!! Check it out. It’s like a shiny new ride.

    Reply
  • 8. dick small  |  May 17, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Amy was never that happy about my blog…

    Reply
  • 9. dick small  |  May 17, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Well, that’s okay, I’ve always been loved the least.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


