Ahem…

May 13, 2007 at 3:32 pm 6 comments

I thought about you today.  But then again, I think about you everyday. 

On this particular day, for some reason, I was the overachiever.  Cleaned the entire house.  Did several loads of laundry.  Started this blog.  And all the while I was thinking of you.

I owe so much to you.  And the only way I can pay it back is to pass it along to my son.  It was from you that I learned how to be strong when the time came.  And how to be tender as well.  You were there for me when things in my life fell apart.  Your support was what saw me through that rough stretch of road.  But you had been down that road yourself, many years before. 

I have alway admired your independence and strong will to do what you thought was right, and it usually was.  Your sacraficies to make sure I turned out to be a decent human being have not gone unappreciated.  I find myself in a somewhat similar situation that you were in when I was but a mere tike, and I am trying my best to handle it the way you would have. 

For you have been my inspiration and always will be.  I am missing you more than usual today because today is Mother’s Day and I would do anything to have you here again.  I have no doubts that you know exactly how I’m feeling today because not a day passed that I didn’t tell you how much I love you.  You are the best Mom. 

Happy Mothers Day. 

Love,

your mixednut 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finally!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dick small  |  May 14, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    My most heartfelt condolences about your mom, Mixed. Hope the pain eases in time. Don’t know how I’ll handle it when it comes my turn to say goodbye.

    Reply
  • 2. mixednut42  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks Dick.
    It has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to deal with.

    Reply
  • 3. teri  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Dick stole what I wanted to say but in this case it’s a good thing him and I think alike.

    What a lovely tribute, mixednut. You’re mom must have proud!

    Reply
  • 4. dick small  |  May 15, 2007 at 8:29 am

    … now dad, on the other hand ..

    Reply
  • 5. Jen  |  May 15, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    nice tribute to mom.
    sorry for your loss

    =(

    Reply
  • 6. Doctor Mom  |  May 18, 2007 at 1:08 am

    First– HOORAY!! Secret Agent Mixed Nut has a home!

    No more sleeping in tents!

    Second– I’m sorry to hear about your mom and that you spent the day wishing for another moment with her.

    I can only imagine– I have a grandfather I feel that way about and lost him long ago. No matter what, certain holidays come and go and the pain resurfaces, but so do the wonderful memories.

    Hang on to them, it’s the greatest gift she ever gave you, was herself and your memories of her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


